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INTERIOR ANNOUNCES SEASONS AND BAG LIMITS FOR BANDTATLS, WOODCOCK,
RAILS, GALLINULES, SNIPE AND DOVES

Hunting regulations for band-tailed pigeons, woodcock, rails, galli-
nules, common snipe and doves this fall and winter will be nearly the same
as last year, the Interior Department's Bureau of Sport Fisheries and
Wildlife announced today,

Surveys by the Bureau and State wildlife agencies showed little change
in populations of most of these game birds,

States in the Eastern dove management unit are offered a bag limit
for mourning doves of 18 daily and 36 in possession, in an experiment to
measure the effect of hunting regulations on this species,

An expérimental nine-day open season for band-tailed pigeons will be
held again in adjoining areas of New Mexico and Arizona.

The bag limit on mourning doves has been reduced to 10 daily and 20
in possession (from 12 daily and 24 in possession) in the Central manage-
ment unit,

Because of a slight decrease in the white-wing dove population, the
season was reduced to two half-days in Texaé, but daily bag and possession
limits remain at 10 and 20,

Following are the frameworks that were announced,
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BAND-TAILED PIGEONS

(In Washington, Oregon, and California)

Between September 1, 1969, and January 15, 1970, Oregon and
Washington may select open seasons of 30 consecutive days;
California may select open seasons of 30 consecutive days
for each of the two following areas:

outside dates
and State
areas

1. 1In the Counties of: Butte, Del Norte, Glen, Humboldt,

Lassen, Mendocino, Modoc, Plumas, Shasta, Sierra,
Siskivou, Tehama, and Trinity; and

2. The remainder of the State.

In all three States, the daily bag and possession limit is
8 and the daily shooting hours are 1/2 hour before sunrise
until sunset.

(In New Mexico and Arizona)

An experimental open season for band-tailed pigeons is
continued for New Mexico and Arizona in accordance with
the following conditions: Open season dates will be
from October 11 through October 19; the daily bag limit
is 5 and the possession limit is 10; shooting hours are
from 1/2 hour before sunrise to sunset daily: PROVIDED,
That every hunter must have been issued and carry on his
person while hunting band-tailed pigeons, a properly
validated band-tailed pigeon hunting permit issued by
the game department of each respective State for the
open season in that State. Such special band-tailed

counties

limits and
shooting hours

New Mexico and
Arizona season
dates/ limits
shooting hours

restrictions

pigeon hunting permits will be issued by the State in which
hunting is to be done. Permits issued by either State will

be valid in that State only. PROVIDED further, That this

season shall be open only in the area described, delineated,

and designated as such, by the States of New Mexico and
Arizona in their respective hunting regulations.

WOODCOCK

Between September 1, 1969, and January 31, 1970, each
State in the Atlantic, Mississippi, and Central Flyways,
may select a season of not more than 65 days with the
daily bag being 5 and the possession limit 10. Shooting
hours are from 1/2 hour before sunrise until sunset in
all States. A State may select a split woodcock season
without penalty in the total number of days.

outside dates
flyways

limits and
shooting hours
option



RAILS

Between September 1, 1969, and January 15, 1970, the
following named States may select a season on king,
clapper, sora, and Virginia rails, according to the
following requirements: The States of Rhode Island,
Connecticut, New York, New Jersey, Delaware, and
Maryland, may select a season of not more than 70
consecutive days with a daily bag limit of 7 and a
possession limit of 14 on clapper and king rails
singly or in the aggregate of these two species.

The States of Texas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama,
Georgia, Florida, South Carolina, North Carolina, and
Virginia, may select a season of not more than 70
consecutive days with a daily bag limit of 15 and a
possession limit of 30 on clapper and king rails
singly or in the aggregate of these species.

The season will remained closed on clapper and king rails in
all other States.

In addition to the seasons and limits for king and clapper
rails prescribed for those States named above, all States

in the Atlantic, Mississippi, and Central Flyways may select
a scason of not more than 70 consecutive days for sora and
Virginia rails with a daily bag and possession limit of 25
singly or in the aggregate of these two species. Shooting
haurs are from 1/2 hour before sunrise to sunset daily.

No season is prescribed on rails in the Pacific flyway.
GALLINULES

States may select an open season for gallinules according
to the following option: States may select an open season
not to exceed 70 consecutive days between the outside dates
of September 1, 1969, and January 15, 1970, with limits

not to exceed 15 daily and 30 in possession. Shooting
hours are from 1/2 hour before sunrise to sunset.

COMMON SNIPE (WILSON'S)

Between September 1, 1969, and January 31, 1970, each
State in the Atlantic, Mississippi, and Central Flyways
may select a season of not more than 50 consecutive days
with a daily bag limit of 8 and a possession limit of 16
with shooting hours from 1/2 hour before sunrise until
sunset.

The Pacific Flyway States may select a season on snipe
at the time they select their waterfowl season. Such
season must fall within the dates and shooting hours
prescribed for waterfowl. Season lengths and limits to
be the same in all flyways.

outside dates

species
named States

season length

clapper and
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season length and
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clapper and king
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sora and Virginia
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shooting hours
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WHITE-WINGED DOVES
In Arizona, an open season is prescribed for the entire
State. The daily bag and possession limit is 25. Shoot-
ing hours are from 1/2 hour before sunrise to sunset.
Dates will conform with the dates for mourning doves.

In California, an open season is prescribed only for the
counties of: Imperial, Riverside, and San Bernardino.

The daily bag limit is 10 and the possession limit is 20
white-winged and mourning doves singly or in the aggre-
gate of both kinds. Shooting hours are from 1/2 hour
before sunrise until sunset. Dates and limits will conform
with those for mourning doves.

In Nevada, an open season is prescribed only for the
counties of Clark and Nye. The daily bag limit is 10 and
- the possession limit is 20 white~winged and mourning doves
singly or in the aggregate of both kinds. Shooting hours
are from 1/2 hour before sunrise until sunset. Dates and
limits will conform with those for mourning doves.

In New Mexico, an open season is prescribed for the entire
State. The daily bag limit is 10 and the possession limit
is 20 white-winged and mourning doves, singly or in the
aggregate of both kinds. Shooting hours are from 1/2 hour
before sunrise until sunset. Dates will conform to those
for mourning doves.

In Texas, an open season of 2 half-days between September 1
and September 14, only for the following counties:

Brewster;
Brooks, Cameron, Culberson, Dimmit, El1 Paso, Hidalgo, Hudspeth,

Jeff Davis, Jim Hogg, Kenedy, Kinney, La Salle, Maverick,

Presidio, Starr, Terrell, Val Verde, Webb, Willacy, and Zapata.

The daily bag limit is 10 and the possession limit is 20.
Shooting hours are from 12 o'clock noon until sunset.

MOURNING DOVES

Between September 1, 1969, and January 15, 1970, States
may select seasons conforming to the following conditions:

Eastern Management Unit:

River and Louisiana)

1. Shooting hours are from 12 o'clock noon until
sunset;

2. The daily bag limit is 18 and the possession
limit is 36.

3. An open season of not more than 70 half-days
which may run consecutively or be split into not
more than 3 periods.

(all States east of the Mississippi

Arizona
limits and
shooting hours

California
3 counties
bag limits

shooting hours

Nevada
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shooting hours
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bag limits

shooting hours

Texas
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Mourning Doves (Continued)

Central Management Unit: (Arkansas, Colorado, Iowa, Kansas,

1.

2.

Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska,

New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma,
South Dakota; Texas, and Wyoming)

Shooting hours are from 1/2 hour before sunrise shooting hours

until sunset in all States except Texas;

A daily bag limit of 10 and a possession limit of
20,

An open season of not more than 60 consecutive full
days in all States except Texas; or

Split season of not more than 3 periods totaling
not more than 60 full days in all States except
Texas.

In New Mexico, the daily bag and possession limits on
mourning and white-winged doves, singly or in the aggre-
gate of both kinds are 10 and 20.

Texas will again be permitted to select open seasons for
each of these two established geographical areas subject
to the following conditions:

1.

In the Northern Area, an open season of not
more than 60 consecutive half-days between
September 1, 1969, and January 15, 1970.
Shooting hours from 12 o'clock noon until
sunset.

In the Southern Area, an open season of not

more than 60 consecutive half-days between
September 20, 1969, and January 15, 1970.
Shooting hours are from 12 o'clock noon until
sunset. PROVIDED, That in the counties of
Cameron, Hidalgo, Starr, Zapata, Webb, Maverick,
Dimmit, La Salle, Jim Hogg, Brooks, Kenedy, and
Willacy, the season shall be for only 58
consecutive half-days which would open with the
60 half-day season selected for the southern area.

Western Management Unit: (Arizona, California, Idaho, Nevada,

Oregon, Utah, and Washington)

Shooting hours are from 1/2 hour before sunrise
until sunset;

A daily bag limit of 10 and a possession limit of
20;

An open season of 50 full days which may run
concurrently or be split into not more than
3 periods.
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Mourning Doves — Western Management Unit (Continued)

In Clark and Nye Counties, Nevada, and in Imperial, River-
side and San Bernardino Counties, California, the daily
bag and possession limits on mourning and white-winged doves,

singly or in the aggregate of both kinds are 10 and 20.

SCOTER, EIDER, AND OLD-SQUAW DUCKS (ATLANTIC FLYWAY)

The scason for taking scoter, eider, and old-squaw ducks is
prescribed between September 25 and January 10 in all

coastal waters and all waters of rivers and streams seaward
from the first upstream bridge in the States of Maine,
Massachusetts, Rhode Island, New Hampshire, and Connecticut;
and in those coastal waters of New York State in Long Island
Sound and Block Island Sound, and the waters of Gardiner's
Bay lying east of a line from the Long Beach Bay lighthouse
to the most easterly point of Ram Head on Shelter Island and
on to the Cedar Point light, including coastal waters on the
south side of Long Island; and the States of New Jersey,
Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Georgia, may
upon: their election, have such special season in any waters
of the Atlantic Ocean and/or in any tidal waters of any bay
which are separated by at least one (1) mile of open water
from any shore, island, and emergent vegetation; and the
State of Maryland, may at its election have such special
season in any waters of the Atlantic Ocean and/or in any tidal
waters of any bay which are separated by at least 1200 yards
of open water from any shore, island, and emergent vegetation:
PROVIDED, That any such areas have been described, delineated,
and designated as special sea duck hunting areas under the
hunting regulations adopted by the respective States.

Shooting hours are from 1/2 hour before sunrise until sun-
set. The daily bag limit is 7 and the possession limit is
14, singly or in the aggregate of these species. In all
other areas of these States and in all other States in the
Atlantic Flyway, such ducks may be taken only during the
open season for other ducks.

During the regular season in the Atlantic Flyway, in addition
to the bag limit on other ducks, a daily bag limit of 7
and a possession limit of 14 scoter, eider, and old-squaw

special limits

outside dates

special areas
in the Atlantic
coastal States

Maryland (new)

shooting hours
bag limits

regular season
limit (bonus)

ducks, singly or in the aggregate of these species is permitted.

MIGRATORY GAME BIRD SEASONS IN ALASKA

Alaska may select seasons on waterfowl, coots, and
common snipe (Wilson's) within the outside dates of
September 1 through January 26, subject to the following
conditions:

1. Daily shooting hours on all species are from 1/2
hour before sunrise until sunset;
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Alaska (Continued)

2. An open season of 61 consecutive full days for
snipe;

3. 1In all the Pribilof, Kodiak (State Game Manage-
ment Unit 8), and Aleutian Islands except Unimak
Island, an open season of 105 consecutive days
within the outside dates of October 14 and
January 26 for brant, geese, ducks, and coots;

4. 1In the remainder of Alaska including Unimak
Island, an open season of 105 consecutive days
within outside dates of September 1 and
January 15 for brant, geese, ducks, and coots;

5. Bag and Possession Limits:

(a) Ducks: A basic daily bag limit of 6 and
a possession limit of 18 ducks collectively;
in addition, a daily bag limit of 15 and a
possession limit of 30 singly or in the aggre-
gate of the following species: scoter, eider,
old-squaw, harlequin, and American and red-
breasted mergansers;

(b) Geese: A daily bag limit of 4 and a
possession limit of 8, singly or in the aggre-
gate of all species, except Emperor geese. In
addition to these limits, there is a bag limit
of 6 and a possession limit of 12 on Emperor
geese;

(c) Brant: A daily bag limit of 4 and pos-
ession limit of 8;

(d) Coots: A daily bag and possession limit
of 15; and

(e) Snipe: A daily bag limit of 8 and a pos-
session limit of 16.

An open season of 45 consecutive full days for the taking
of little brown cranes in Alaska is prescribed for the
period from September 1 through October 15 with a daily bag
limit of 2 and a possession limit of 4. Shooting hours are
from 1/2 hour before sunrise until sunset.

season length
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